Super Rugby 2013

Super-Rugby-2013-138942_951x340

For those who are unfortunate enough to follow me on twitter will know that there are two sporting codes that usually fill up my TL (timeline) on weekends. Since the end of The Currie Cup, the rugby tweets have been missing. This changes this weekend, though. This weekend it’s the start of Super Rugby! Are you excited? I sure as hell am!

Last season was yet another “1 step too far” for my beloved Stormers. In all honesty The Stormers are in danger of becoming Super Rugby’s nearly-rans. In the past three seasons The Stormers have lost one final (against The Bulls in Soweto 2010) and lost two semis (Crusaders 2011 and the Sharks 2012 both at Newlands). Admittedly in Cape Town, there are many Cape All Blacks who get a semi when the Crusaders go all the way (See what I did there?). Let’s move on, shall we?

One thing I’m not really excited about are the opening fixtures this weekend. I’m not sure about the rest of you out there, for me however, Australian Super Rugby fixtures are the absolute WORST in the entire competition. I’d prefer to watch Italy vs Scotland in snow 9 years ago, than be forced to watch an Australian derby. If there are any of you stupid  keen, to hear my fan’s perspective of this yawn fest here goes:

The Rebels vs The Force:

Rebels:

Rebels

My only real interest in this game is if, my cousin who stays in Melbourne will be attending. Really, I’m not lying. Anyway, there are 3 debutants for The Rebels in Scott Higginbotham, Scott Fuglistaller and Rory Sidey. There were some doubts if Kurtley Beale and John O’Connor being available for this snore of a game. But both are drafted into the starting XV. So there’s your answer.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Force:

force

Do we care? If you do, you would have noticed already that Australian rugby seem to moving towards New Zealand. The new halves kiwi pairing of Albie Mathewson and Sam Christie could be the ONLY interesting partnership in this team. This is essentially a new look Force compared to last season. But one thing hasn’t changed for me, The Force are potentially the whipping boys of the Snorestralian Conference.

 

 

 

 

Prediction: Rebels by 13

The Brumbies vs The Reds

Brumbies:

brumbies

Funniest thing ever… Clyde Super Rugby Rathbone is back playing rugby… that is not a misprint… CLYDE RATHBONE IS BACK PLAYING SUPER RUGBY!!! And it’s all thanks to Jake White. Clearly Mr “I would love to coach the Springboks again” is smitten with the former Baby boks u/21 captain. He tried to lure him back to South Africa when Clyde “don’t look at me or I’ll get injured” Rathbone was making a name for himself with the Brumbies. However, Clyde “I can’t remember the South African national anthem” Rathbone chose the Australians over the Springboks. We all know how that ended. Springboks = World Champions. Rathbone = Crock of shit! In other team news; Saliva Silva Silver Silfa finally gets his chance to “impress” in Super Rugby after a terrible campaign last season which kept him out of the Force line up all season.

 

 

 

Reds:

reds

Reds coach Ewan Mckenzie seems to be pulling a fast one on us so far. He will only announce his team on Friday morning before kickoff…. Dick.

 

 

 

 

 

Prediction: Brumbies by 7.

Clyde

Leave a comment